Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What are the settlements about?

    Class action lawsuits were commenced in British Columbia (the “BC Action”), Alberta, Saskatchewan, Quebec, and Ontario (collectively, the “Credit Card Actions”) against Visa Canada Corporation (“Visa”), Mastercard International Incorporated (“Mastercard”), and certain banks which issue credit cards (“Issuing Banks”) alleging each of Visa and Mastercard conspired with their issuing Banks and Acquirers in setting the amount of interchange fees and imposing rules restricting merchants’ ability to surcharge or refuse higher cost Visa and Mastercard Credit Cards. The BC Action was certified as a class proceeding as against all Defendants.

    Although National Bank of Canada, Visa, and Mastercard deny liability, they have reached three new national settlements with the Plaintiffs (the “National Bank Settlement,” the “Visa Settlement,” and the “Mastercard Settlement,” collectively, the “New Settlements”), subject to approval of the Courts. National Bank of Canada will pay CAD $6 million, and Visa and Mastercard will each pay CAD $19.5 million for a collective total of $45 million (the “Settlement Amounts”) for the benefit of the Settlement Class Members and provide certain cooperation to the Plaintiffs as described in their respective settlement agreements, in exchange for a full release of claims against each of them and their related entities. Visa and Mastercard will also be modifying their respective “no surcharge rules” that prevented merchants from charging a premium on credit card use, on terms set out in greater detail in their respective settlement agreements.

    If the New Settlements are approved, the Class Lawyers will ask the Courts to approve the deduction of certain amounts (collectively, the “Court-approved Expenses”) from the Settlement Amounts, including costs incurred to distribute Notice and process opt-out requests, comments and objections, the approved counsel fee of up to 25% of the recovered amounts, and disbursements.

    As the Credit Card Actions have to continue against the remaining Defendants, it is proposed that the amounts remaining from the Settlement Amounts after deduction of all Court-approved Expenses be added to the net proceeds from the Prior Settlements that are held in trust for Settlement Class Members pending receipt of further settlements or further order of the Court at the conclusion of the Credit Card Actions. At such time, a distribution protocol will be developed and submitted to the Courts for approval, and further notice will be provided to you of the proposed distribution system.

    Back To Top

  2. Am I a part of the Settlements?

    The Court-approved definition of “Settlement Class Member” sets out who can participate in the New Settlements and in the continued prosecution of the Credit Card Actions against the remaining Defendants (BMO, TD, CIBC, RBC, and Scotia). You are a Settlement Class Member if you accept or accepted Visa Credit Cards and/or Mastercard Credit Cards as payment for goods or services and incurred merchant discount fees, including interchange fees, in Canada since March 23, 2001.

    The Settlement Class includes Quebec Settlement Class Members. Quebec Settlement Class Members are Quebec resident persons who accepted Visa and/or Mastercard Credit Cards as payment for goods or services and incurred merchant discount fees, including interchange fees, in Canada, at any time since March 23, 2001. As noted below, Quebec Settlement Class Members have different participation options.

    Any legal persons established for a private interest, partnership, or association, which at any time between December 17, 2009, and December 17, 2010, had under its direction or control more than 50 persons bound to it by contract of employment, and any legal persons established for a public interest resident in Quebec, are not Quebec Settlement Class Members, but are Settlement Class Members.

    Back To Top

  3. How can I participate in the Settlements?

    Settlement Class Members who wish to participate in the New Settlements or in the continuing Credit Card Actions do not need to do anything at this time, although we encourage them to register as set out above to ensure that they receive notice of any important developments, including when time comes to distribute all the funds received.

    Back To Top

  4. Can I exclude myself from the settlements?

    Merchants who do not wish to participate in the Credit Card Actions and in any approved settlements have to opt out (exclude themselves). The Courts in Quebec and in the common law provinces have approved different rules regarding opting out of the Credit Card Actions and settlements. In practice, Quebec Settlement Class Members have an opportunity to opt out in connection with each round of settlement approval, whereas other Settlement Class Members are given a single opportunity to elect whether to opt out or not. In all cases, once a Settlement Class Member elects to opt out, they are out for good and cannot opt back into the Credit Card Actions.

    For most Settlement Class Members, the right to opt out of the Credit Card Actions was previously provided in connection with the approval of some of the Prior Settlements and has now expired. The only Settlement Class Members who can elect to opt out at this time are:

    1. Quebec Settlement Class Members; and
    2. Persons who only began accepting Visa and/or Mastercard Credit Cards after September 4, 2015 (the “New Merchants”).

    The deadline for Quebec Settlement Class Members and New Merchants to opt out is May 31, 2018. Regardless, all Settlement Class Members can still make their views known about the New Settlements as set out above.

    Back To Top

  5. What are the consequences of opting out?

    I. For Quebec Settlement Class Members

    By opting out, you are choosing:

    1. Not to take part in any of the New Settlements;
    2. Not to participate in any future settlements reached in the Credit Card Class Action in Quebec; AND
    3. Not to participate in the ongoing prosecution of the Credit Card Class Action in Quebec against the other Defendants.

    Quebec Settlement Class Members who opt out will not be bound by the New Settlements or the releases in those Settlements, but will also not be entitled to share in any of the proceeds that may become available to merchants as part of those Settlements or any future settlement(s). Quebec Settlement Class Members who opt out will remain bound by the Prior Settlements and the releases in those Settlements, and will be entitled to share in the proceeds that may become available to merchants as part of those Settlements.

    II. For New Merchants

    By opting out, you are choosing:

    1. Not to take part in any of the Prior Settlements or New Settlements;
    2. Not to participate in any future settlements reached in the Credit Card Class Actions; AND
    3. Not to participate in the ongoing prosecution of the Credit Card Class Actions.

    New Merchants who opt out will not be bound by the Prior Settlements and the New Settlements or the releases in those Settlements, but will also not be entitled to share in any of the proceeds that may become available to merchants as part of those Settlements or other settlement(s).

    Back To Top

  6. What are the consequences of not opting out?

    I. For Quebec Settlement Class Members

    Quebec Settlement Class Members who do not opt out will be bound by the New Settlements and the releases in them, and will be entitled to share in any of the proceeds that may become available to merchants as part of those Settlements. They will have an opportunity to opt out of the ongoing Credit Card Action in Quebec against the other Defendants if and when such action is authorized as a class action against some or all of those remaining Defendants.

    II. For New Merchants

    New Merchants who do not opt out will be bound by the Prior Settlements and the New Settlements, and the releases in them, and will be entitled to share in any of the proceeds that may become available to merchants as part of those Settlements. They will also participate in the ongoing prosecution of the Credit Card Class Actions in Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Ontario against the remaining Defendants. The right of New Merchants to participate in the ongoing prosecution of the Credit Card Class Action in British Columbia will ultimately be determined by the British Columbia Court in the context of the contested proceedings.

    Back To Top

  7. What if I do not agree with the Settlement?

    If you wish to provide written comment on or objection to the Settlement, you must do so by delivering same to the Administrator by June 21, 2018. Comments or objections will be provided to the Court for consideration in whether to approve or reject the Settlement.

    For communications with the Opt-Out Administrator, Epiq call +1 (877) 283-6548, email info@CreditCardSettlements.ca, or write to:

    Credit Card Class Actions Opt-Out Administrator
    P.O. Box 2312
    349 W Georgia St
    Vancouver BC V6B 1Y0

    Back To Top

  8. Who are the lawyers that represent the Classes?

    Class Lawyers can be reached at lawyer@CreditCardSettlements.ca and are:

    For Non-Quebec Residents: For Quebec Residents:
    Luciana Brasil
    Branch MacMaster LLP
    (604) 654-2999
    David Jones
    Camp Fiorante Mathews Mogerman
    (604) 689-7555
    Jeff Orenstein
    Consumer Law Group
    +1 (888) 909-7863 x2

    Back To Top

  9. When is the Settlement Approval Hearing?

    Hearings to consider approval of the New Settlements, a counsel fee of up to 25% of the recovered amounts, and disbursements payable from the Settlement Amounts will be heard on the following dates:

    • June 25, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. (British Columbia Supreme Court, Vancouver)
    • July 5, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. (Court of Queen’s Bench of Alberta, Edmonton)
    • July 6, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. (Court of Queen’s Bench for Saskatchewan, Regina)
    • August 21, 2018 at 8:45 a.m. (Quebec Superior Court, Montreal)
    • July 12, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. (Ontario Superior Court of Justice, Toronto)

    Anyone can attend the hearings, but if you wish to speak to the Court, please advise the Administrator (Epiq).

    Back To Top

  10. Where can I find more information?

    For communications with the Opt-Out Administrator, Epiq, call +1 (877) 283-6548, email info@CreditCardSettlements.ca, or write to the following address:

    Credit Card Class Actions Opt-Out Administrator
    P.O. Box 2312
    349 W Georgia St
    Vancouver BC V6B 1Y0

    Back To Top

Foire aux questions

  1. Sur quoi portent les règlements?

    Des recours collectifs ont été intentés en Colombie-Britannique (le « Recours de la C.-B. »), en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Québec et en Ontario (collectivement, les « Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit ») contre Visa Canada Corporation (« Visa »), MasterCard International Incorporated (« MasterCard ») et contre certaines banques qui émettent des cartes de crédit (« Banques émettrices »), alléguant que Visa et MasterCard ont toutes deux comploté avec leurs Banques émettrices et Acquéreurs pour établir le montant des frais d’interchange et imposer des règles restreignant la capacité des commerçants à ajouter des frais supplémentaires ou à refuser les cartes de crédit Visa et MasterCard à frais plus élevés. Le Recours de la C.-B. a été certifié comme recours collectif contre tous les Défendeurs.

    Bien que la Banque Nationale du Canada, Visa et MasterCard nient toute responsabilité, elles ont conclu trois nouveaux règlements nationaux avec les Demandeurs (le « Règlement de la Banque Nationale », le « Règlement Visa » et le « Règlement MasterCard », collectivement, les « Nouveaux règlements »), soumis à l’approbation des Tribunaux. La Banque Nationale du Canada paiera 6 millions de dollars canadiens, et Visa et MasterCard paieront dans chaque cas 19,5 millions de dollars canadiens, soit un total collectif de 45 millions de dollars (les « Montants de règlements ») au bénéfice des Membres du Groupe du règlement et offriront une certaine collaboration aux Demandeurs de la manière décrite dans leurs accords de règlement respectifs, en échange d’une décharge complète des réclamations contre chacune d’elles et leurs entités liées. En outre, Visa et MasterCard modifieront leurs « règles d’absence de frais supplémentaires » respectives qui empêchaient les commerçants d’exiger une prime sur l’utilisation de la carte de crédit, à des conditions indiquées plus en détail dans leurs accords de règlement respectifs.

    Si les Nouveaux règlements sont approuvés, les Avocats des groupes demanderont aux Tribunaux d’approuver la déduction de certains montants (collectivement les « Frais approuvés par les Tribunaux ») des Montants de règlements, y compris les frais engagés pour distribuer l’Avis et les demandes d’exclusion du processus, les commentaires et les oppositions, les honoraires d’avocat approuvés jusqu’à 25 % des montants recouvrés, et les débours.

    Comme les Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit doivent se poursuivre contre les autres Défendeurs, il est proposé que les montants restants des Montants de règlement, après déduction de tous les Frais approuvés par les Tribunaux, soient ajoutés au produit net des Règlements antérieurs qui est détenu en fiducie pour les Membres du Groupe du règlement en attente de la réception de règlements ultérieurs ou d’une ordonnance ultérieure du Tribunal au terme des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit. À ce moment-là, un protocole de distribution sera créé et présenté aux Tribunaux aux fins d’approbation, et un avis ultérieur du système de distribution proposé vous sera transmis.

    Retour en haut

  2. Est-ce que je fais partie des Règlements?

    La définition approuvée par les Tribunaux de « Membre du Groupe du règlement » précise qui peut participer aux Nouveaux règlements et à la poursuite continue des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit contre les Défendeurs restants (BMO, TD, CIBC, BRC et Scotia). Vous êtes un membre du Groupe du règlement si vous acceptez ou avez accepté des cartes de crédit Visa et/ou MasterCard pour le paiement de biens ou de services, et que vous avez engagé des frais d’escompte versés par les commerçants, y compris des frais d’interchange, au Canada, depuis le 23 mars 2001.

    Le Groupe du règlement comprend les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec. Les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec sont des résidents du Québec qui ont accepté des cartes de crédit Visa et/ou MasterCard pour le paiement de biens ou de services et qui ont engagé des frais d’escompte versés par les commerçants, y compris des frais d’interchange, au Canada, à tout moment depuis le 23 mars 2001. Comme indiqué ci-après, les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec ont des options de participation différentes.

    Toute personne morale établie pour un intérêt privé, société de personnes ou association, qui, à tout moment entre le 17 décembre 2009 et le 17 décembre 2010, avait sous sa direction ou son contrôle plus de 50 personnes liées à elle par contrat de travail, et toute personne morale établie pour un intérêt public résidant au Québec, n’est pas Membre du Groupe du règlement du Québec, mais est Membre du Groupe du règlement.

    Retour en haut

  3. Comment puis-je participer aux Règlements?

    Les Membres du Groupe du règlement qui désirent participer aux Nouveaux règlements ou à la poursuite des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit n’ont pas besoin de faire quoi que ce soit à ce stade, bien que nous les encouragions à s’inscrire de la manière susmentionnée pour s’assurer de recevoir un avis des développements importants, y compris lorsque le moment est venu de distribuer tous les fonds reçus.

    Retour en haut

  4. Puis-je m’exclure des règlements?

    Les commerçants qui ne désirent pas participer aux Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit et à tout règlement approuvé doivent s’exclure. Les Tribunaux du Québec et des provinces de common law ont approuvé des règles différentes concernant l’exclusion des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit et des règlements. En pratique, les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec ont la possibilité de s’exclure en lien avec chaque série d’approbation de règlements, tandis que d’autres Membres du Groupe du règlement ont une seule possibilité de décider de s’exclure ou non. Dans tous les cas, lorsqu’un Membre du Groupe du règlement choisit de s’exclure, il est exclu de manière définitive et il ne peut décider de revenir dans les Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit.

    Pour la plupart des Membres du Groupe du règlement, le droit de s’exclure des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit a été précédemment prévu en lien avec l’approbation de certains des Règlements antérieurs et il a maintenant pris fin. Les seuls Membres du Groupe du règlement qui peuvent choisir de s’exclure à ce stade sont:

    1. Les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec, et
    2. Les personnes qui ont uniquement commencé à accepter des cartes de crédit Visa et/ou MasterCard après le 4 septembre 2015 (les « Nouveaux commerçants »).

    La date limite d’exclusion pour les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec et les Nouveaux commerçants est le 31 Mai 2018. Néanmoins, tous les Membres du Groupe du règlement peuvent continuer à exprimer leur point de vue au sujet des Nouveaux règlements de la manière susmentionnée.

    Retour en haut

  5. Quelles sont les conséquences de l’exclusion?

    I. Pour les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec

    En vous excluant, vous choisissez de:

    1. Ne participer à aucun des Nouveaux règlements,
    2. Ne participer à aucun des règlements futurs conclus dans le cadre des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit au Québec, ET
    3. Ne pas participer à la poursuite en cours des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit au Québec contre les autres Défendeurs.

    Les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec qui choisissent de s’exclure ne seront pas liés par les Nouveaux règlements ni par les décharges obtenues dans le cadre de ces Règlements, mais ils ne pourront pas non plus avoir droit à une part des sommes pouvant devenir disponibles pour les commerçants dans le cadre de ces Règlements ou de tout règlement futur. Les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec qui choisissent de s’exclure demeureront liés par les Règlements antérieurs et les décharges obtenues dans le cadre de ces Règlements, et ils auront droit à une part des sommes pouvant devenir disponibles pour les commerçants dans le cadre de ces Règlements.

    II. Pour les Nouveaux commerçants

    En vous excluant, vous choisissez de:

    1. Ne participer à aucun des Règlements antérieurs ou des Nouveaux règlements,
    2. Ne participer à aucun règlement futur conclu dans le cadre des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit, ET
    3. Ne pas participer à la poursuite en cours des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit.

    Les Nouveaux commerçants qui choisissent de s’exclure ne seront pas liés par les Règlements antérieurs ni par les décharges obtenues dans le cadre de ces Règlements, mais ils ne pourront pas non plus avoir droit à une part des sommes pouvant devenir disponibles pour les commerçants dans le cadre de ces Règlements ou d’autres règlements.

    Retour en haut

  6. Quelles sont les conséquences de ne pas s’ exclure?

    I. Pour les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec

    Les Membres du Groupe du règlement du Québec qui ne s’excluent pas seront liés par les Nouveaux règlements et les décharges obtenues dans le cadre de ces derniers, et ils auront droit à une part des sommes pouvant devenir disponibles pour les commerçants dans le cadre de ces Règlements. Ils auront la possibilité de s’exclure du Recours collectif portant sur des cartes de crédit en cours au Québec contre les autres Défendeurs si ce recours est autorisé, et au moment où il le sera, comme recours collectif contre une partie ou la totalité des Défendeurs restants.

    II. Pour les Nouveaux commerçants

    Les Nouveaux commerçants qui ne s’excluent pas seront liés par les Règlements antérieurs et les Nouveaux règlements, et les décharges obtenues dans le cadre de ceux-ci, et ils auront droit à une part des sommes pouvant devenir disponibles pour les commerçants dans le cadre de ces Règlements. Ils participeront également à la poursuite des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit en cours en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et en Ontario contre les Défendeurs restants. Le droit des Nouveaux commerçants de participer à la poursuite des Recours collectifs portant sur des cartes de crédit en cours en Colombie-Britannique sera en dernière analyse déterminé par le Tribunal de la Colombie-Britannique dans le contexte des procédures contestées.

    Retour en haut

  7. Qu’en est-il si je ne suis pas d’accord avec le Règlement?

    Si vous souhaitez fournir un commentaire écrit sur le Règlement ou vous y opposer par écrit, vous devez le faire en présentant votre commentaire ou opposition à l’Administrateur d’ici le 21 Juin 2018. Les commentaires ou les oppositions seront transmis au Tribunal pour examen en vue d’approuver ou de rejeter le Règlement.

    Pour communiquer avec l’Administrateur des exclusions, Epiq, composez le (877) 283-6548, faites parvenir un courriel à info@CreditCardSettlements.ca, ou écrivez à:

    Credit Card Class Actions Opt-Out Administrator
    P.O. Box 2312
    349 W Georgia St
    Vancouver BC V6B 1Y0

    Retour en haut

  8. Qui sont les avocats qui représentent les Groupes?

    Les AVOCATS DU GROUPE sont les suivants et peuvent être rejoints au lawyer@CreditCardSettlements.ca et:

    Pour les résidents hors du Québec: Pour les résidents du Québec:
    Luciana Brasil
    Branch MacMaster LLP
    (604) 654-2999
    David Jones
    Camp Fiorante Mathews Mogerman
    (604) 689-7555
    Jeff Orenstein
    Consumer Law Group
    (888) 909-7863 poste 2

    Retour en haut

  9. Quand doit se tenir l’audience d’approbation de règlements?

    Les audiences visant à considérer l’approbation des Nouveaux règlements, des honoraires d’avocat jusqu’à 25 % des montants recouvrés et des débours à percevoir depuis les Montants de règlement se tiendront aux dates suivantes:

    • 25 juin 2018 à 10 h (Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique, à Vancouver)
    • 5 juillet 2018 à 10 h (Cour du Banc de la Reine de l’Alberta, à Edmonton)
    • 6 juillet 2018 à 10 h (Cour du Banc de la Reine de la Saskatchewan, à Regina)
    • 21 août 2018 à 8h45 (Cour supérieure du Québec, à Montréal)
    • 12 juillet 2018 à 10 h (Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, à Toronto)

    Toute personne peut assister aux audiences, mais si vous souhaitez vous adresser à la Cour, veuillez en informer l’Administrateur (Epiq).

    Retour en haut

  10. Où puis-je trouver de plus amples renseignements?

    Pour communiquer avec l’Administrateur des exclusions, Epiq, composez le 877 283-6548, faites parvenir un courriel à info@CreditCardSettlements.ca, ou écrivez à l’adresse suivante:

    Credit Card Class Actions Opt-Out Administrator
    P.O. Box 2312
    349 W Georgia St
    Vancouver BC V6B 1Y0

    Retour en haut